Family Favorite · Instant Pot · Snacks · Uncategorized

Favorite Hummus

After trying several hummus recipes over the years, I have settled on this one as the keeper. I wish I had noted where I found it so I could give due credit. It is smooth & flavorful. I do wish it was a little more tangy so if you know of any tips on adding tang let me know. 

2 cups cooked chickpeas, (I like to make them in the instant pot per Rebooted Mom’s recipe : 1 cup dried chickpeas, 4 cups water, 2 cloves garlic & 1 bay leaf cooked on bean setting 35 mins, natural release about 15 mins. Alternately you can used canned or make them in the crockpot by soaking overnight & cooking on H about 4 hrs.)

3 Tb EVOO

3 Tb tahini

1 1/2 Tbs fresh lemon juice, add the zest too if you like

1 small clove of garlic, minced

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

dash of cumin

2 Tb water (this makes it really smooth)

Blend all ingredients in a food processor until smooth.

img_0806

Leave a Reply

