Biblical Womanhood · Contemplation · Convictions · Homemaking · insecurity · Milestones · Mothering · Uncategorized

Beginning of the Second Half

“Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise, making the best use of the time, because the days are evil. Therefore don’t be foolish, but understand what the will of the Lord is.” Ephesians 5:15,16

022649f627ce58f7a9f217c14e2d4d9c

“Teach us to number our days, that we may gain a heart of wisdom.” Psalm 90:12

WHAT?! I’ve been alive nearly 40 years! How am I this old?

What a blessing to be given that much time by the Lord. When I look back on the first half of my life, I feel such gratitude. The Lord has blessed me so very much.

He gave me Christian parents who raised me in a Godly home and a sibling to call my own.

He gave me a husband to love & be loved by, who leads in the way God designed him to.

He gave me the best in-loves in the world & even two sister in-loves. Bonus!

He gave us two precious children to raise & love.

He gave me His grace & redemption through JESUS, which this sinner finds the most amazing blessing of all!

For as long as I can remember, I knew about my motherhood calling. I’ve always assumed it would be the greatest calling & purpose of my life. I can’t help but wonder, as I see that season crawling towards the finish line, what next? There are only about 6 more summers before the boys are done with life under our roof & off to fulfill their own callings. Is my most important life work really almost over? Or is it just beginning or maybe not even started yet? I think of Moses. He lived forty years in Egypt & forty years in the desert before God selected him to lead his people our of slavery. His most important work was definitely deep into the second half. I don’t have a clue. I’m not sure what the Lord has for the second half of things, but I want to be open to whatever that is. I pray that I’ll wisely embrace whatever He asks me to do with the time I have left in this very temporal life.

“How do you know what your life will be like tomorrow? Your life is like the morning fog – it’s here a little while, then it’s gone.” James 4:14

 

Leave a Reply

