Uncategorized

Quitting Facebook

 

img_0176

I wanted to share my story of permanently deleting my Facebook account in case it can encourage anyone else who may be struggling with a conviction about having it.

I doubt everyone needs to break up with Facebook & I’m not suggesting you should. It may not be a pitfall for you. It was a disrupter of peace for my husband & it was truly a snare of sin for me! It took several breakups over the years… some short & some long to realize that to be obedient I had to divorce myself from it.

1 Peter 4:7 says, “The end of all things is at hand; therefore be self-controlled and sober-minded for the sake of your prayers.” I don’t understand all the psychology & spiritual warfare behind it, but Facebook was a form of idolatry, disrupted my peace, caused major friendship insecurities, caused self focus, stoked my ego, & stole my time to name a few. This clearly was not me living sober-minded, self-controlled & my prayers were being hindered! What a waste of this life!!!

In the end I realized that the Lord convicted me to leave. By staying I was living in disobedience. The Lord used the verse in 1 Samuel about “obedience is better than sacrifice” to show me that I had been breaking up with Facebook as an act of sacrifice rather than divorcing it as an act of obedience. Immediately after obeying Him, I started noticing some significant blessings in my life. My spiritual peace & joy returned. I don’t have any paranoid thoughts about who likes me or if what I posted made someone judge me. I have the emotional & mental space to be creative & do things like write blog posts again. More gets done around my home. I feel like a new person!

1 Thessalonians 4:11 is profitable advice that applied to Facebook in my own life, “…aspire to live quietly, and to mind your own affairs, and to work with your hands, as we instructed you…”

One thought on “Quitting Facebook

  1. You are the second person I’ve come across who has divorced completely from Facebook thus far this year. I deleted it from my phone and that is enough for me. It certainly is a time waster for me if it’s on my phone. Watching tv until all hours of the night is one of my struggles at present. We all have our struggles, don’t we? 🙂 Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

