Uncategorized

Living intentionally in 2107

 

As an instinctive planner, the commencement of a new year behoves me. I revel in it. My aims for 2017 are pretty ordinary, but no less exhilarating to me.

Intentions:

Cook more I already cook an awful lot, but since eating out has been banished from our budget, I’ll need to cook even more.

Learn how to make mean enchiladas & queso since my family must break our Papa Poblano’s habit because of aforementioned budget cuts.

Buy less stuff I’m committed to decluttering, downsizing, using what we have & not buying anything this year that’s unessential. This is suprisingly exciting to me. I believe this is finally the year that we will be amazing stewards of our $. Big prayers & hopes as we snowball debt (mostly medical) & stick to a strict budget.

Grow in the Lord I want to have a more intentional & earnest prayer life. I have run from God in this area. My prayer life was tested, challenged & corrected in the past. It’s time to not be fearful of prayer anymore. The Lord has recently answered a couple of prayers, which has bolstered my faith in the power of prayer. Reading more scriptures is a goal as well.

Skill Train the boys  Obviously we train the boys in academics as we homeschool them. However, as they are quickly entering the Jr/High School years, I’ve been thinking a lot about what practical skills the boys need to learn. Jonathan’s health hasn’t been good enough to teach them a lot of things, so I am concerned that they won’t know how to do things they should. This year I pray for wisdom to make a list of skills that they need to learn & then find people that can help me train them.

Above all I pray that our ventures, goals & intentions will be flexible to the bending of our will & the molding of His will in us. God aid us daily to listen for, obey & follow Your spirit. 

Proverbs 19:21English Standard Version (ESV)

21 Many are the plans in the mind of a man,
but it is the purpose of the Lord that will stand.

Leave a Reply

