Family Favorite · Restaurants · Salads · Uncategorized

Copycat Salerno’s Italian House Salad

One of my all-time favorite restaurants is Salerno’s in Flower Mound, Texas. My husband Jonathan & I have been on several dates & anniversary dinners there. In fact, our wedding rehearsal dinner was held there in 1999.

Their house salad is a favorite & this recipe tastes similar enough to help satisfy my Salerno’s cravings. I’m glad I found the recipe from The Gingham Apron. I’ve adapted it slightly to match Salerno’s version more closely. Hope you like it as much as I do!

The Dressing:

2 Tb mayo

2 Tb red wine vinegar

1 clove garlic, crushed

1/2 tsp dried oregano

1/4 cup plus 2 Tb EVOO

S & P to taste

The Salad:

chopped romaine lettuce

chopped fresh mushrooms

shredded mozzarella cheese (or mozzarella/provolone mix)

peperoncini pepper rings

chopped black olives

chopped celery

sliced purple onion

 

 

Leave a Reply

