Contemplation · Family Time

Holding These Days Dear

                                               my brother Timothy, momma, me and daddy

I have always, always been a sentimental gal.

I’m glad God created us in His image with strong emotion and love for others.

I’m glad I find it easy to love people, although I give God all the credit for that. I sure do love my family, and friends. So deeply.

The future is so very uncertain. My heart aches and rejoices at the same time. With my parents moving away and my brother and husband both being in ministry as well, it is never guaranteed we will live near family and friends. It is highly unlikely that I will get to grow old with my best girlfriend. When you are in the ministry you don’t have a choice. You give up that choice when you surrender your life to go wherever He says go.

Change is certainly not new to me. I have moved more times than I can count on both hands. In fact with my husband and I being at our current location for almost 7 years… well, it’s a record breaker for me. The longest I have ever lived anywhere before this is about 3 1/2 years! The only thing that has ever been constant in my life other than my Lord has been my parents.

Even when we haven’t lived in the same area, I have been able to see them if I needed or just wanted to. Of course I lived with my parents until college. In college I moved only a few hours away, so they were not far. After college I lived back in the area they were. Then soon after they moved to Lubbock, Jonathan and I followed. When they moved to Oklahoma, it wasn’t long before God called Jonathan to a church in the same area they were. I’m so thankful the Lord worked it out that way. It has been such a rich, sweet blessing! But as all seasons on this earth do, this season of living close is coming to an end.

Having them live many miles away is very new to me. This will be a big change in my life. I sure will miss having easy access to them. I sure am thankful I have had a closeness both in location and heart with them these 35 years of my life. What a blessing! Thank you, Father.

So I am holding these days dear. Each moment I spend with them, I hang on their every word. Study their faces and lock onto their voices. Trying to memorize what they are like and what it feels like to be in their presence. God, strengthen me and give me Your peace to let my daddy and momma go. Help me not to hold too tightly to anything that is Yours. Thank you for being my only constant. My only forever.

Psalm 90

1Lord, you have been our dwelling place
throughout all generations.
2Before the mountains were born
or you brought forth the earth and the world,
from everlasting to everlasting you are God.
3You turn men back to dust,
saying, “Return to dust, O sons of men.”
4For a thousand years in your sight
are like a day that has just gone by,
or like a watch in the night.
Leave a Reply

