Biblical Womanhood · diva · insecurity · Marriage

The Insecure Diva

I’m so embarrassed to admit that my husband and I had an argument last week that went like this, if you can even believe it…

me: “honey, if we get to go to an OKC Thunder game next year, I oughta get the tips of my hair dyed blue *clap clap*.” (thinking to myself how I could totally rock that look)
husband: “you are getting too old for that.” (oh no he did not just say that!)
me: “What!? I’m a w-o-m-a-n and am going to own it so you better respect it!” (or something to that effect)
husband: complete silence (what he wasn’t blown away by my sexy display of power and drama?!)
me: “Are you giving me the silent treatment!?” (as if I would never stoop that low, ha)
husband: “I’m just keeping my mouth shut because you are being a diva.” (gasp! who me?)

Urban Dictionary defines diva as, “a crabby (changed a word there to be more appropriate) woman that must have her way exactly, or no way at all. often rude and belittles people, believes that everyone is beneath her and thinks that she is so much more loved than what she really is. selfish, spoiled, and overly dramatic.

– In other words…very unattractive!

I had never been called a diva before and must admit that I didn’t like what I saw in the mirror when he called me out on it. One lure of the diva attitude is that it’s a cover for insecurities. Instead of finding security in Christ, you try being secure in yourself. In my case I honestly believe that this attitude was born and fostered from the influence of bad music and movies. I didn’t realize I was even picking it up. It really comes as no surprise when you see that all the music I have liked for working out reek of diva, of course. The Lord had already been convicting me about my music and I am happy to report that I have lost the taste for that music and found some very good replacements in Christian music. I pray that the Lord will change my heart and attitude to reflect a more meek, unselfish and Christ-like one.

 I believe women are heavily influenced by the world, media, music, magazines, books, and television shows to feel empowered, make it happen, be “yourself”, own it, be respected, etc. Pretty much the exact opposite of the fruit I should be displaying in Christ Jesus. So I challenge each of you to check your self as well. Ask the Holy Spirit to reveal any areas of your heart that have been divafied. Then repent and turn from that sinful attitude. Forsake any influences in your life that feed the innner diva (aka flesh) in you.

Leave a Reply

