Favorite Things and Recommendations

5 Things: 7/4/12

Happy Independence Day everyone! Anyone going to watch “The Patriot” with Mel Gibson today? : )

As my SIL Ashley reminded me today, “Let’s not forget that God is the One who blessed us with the freedoms we have! Remember to thank Him today! ‘We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.’ The Declaration of Independence July 4, 1776.”

Here are my 5 things to share this week…..

1. Faith:
*Have you guys heard of Good Morning Girls?

Good Morning Girls is a group of Christian women who email, facebook, text or twitter to keep each other accountable for quiet times. I am wanting to try one of their Bible studies for my morning devotions soon.

*Another site I want to become more familiar with is Hello Mornings. It looks so encouraging and offers inspiration for moms to make the most of their mornings.

2. Fitness:
*My friend Brandie just started a 90 day workout program called www.maxworkouts.com. She mentioned that her cardio for yesterday was to do 30 seconds high intensity/ 30 second moderate intensity cardio for 20 mins. I tried it today and absolutely loved it. It was intense enough to get me sweaty, but the 30 seconds of slowing it down allowed me to not get overly worn out which has been a real issue for me when I have tried to run consecutive mins. Give it a try! Here is what it looked like on my treadmill:

warm up 5 mins on treadmill at a 3 mph
alternate 30 seconds high (for me was about 4.4 mph) with 30 seconds low (about 3.4 mph) for 25 mins
cool down 5 mins at a 3 mph

3. Food:
*Freedom from the bondage of bad eating habbits….Do you struggle with obsessing over food? Maybe food is a little more important than it should be in your life? Maybe you are more concerned with physical eating (even healthy eating) than spiritual nourishment? If so, I highly recommend this free 60 day interactive online course called the Lord’s Table. This 60-Day interactive course will teach you to enjoy a newfound relationship with the Lord. You will find freedom from the sin of gluttony, by learning to follow biblical and practical ways, as you daily proceed through this course.

*Italian night anyone? Yes please! Chicken Parmesan with Pepperoni is a new favorite recipe.

*Another new favorite of mine is Jenn from Eating Bender’s “Coffee Cocoa”. Think coffee meets hot cocoa at Starbucks for a date : ). The whip cream is an absolute non-negotiable. I have tweaked her recipe a bit:

-make a cup of favorite coffee or teechino
-add about 1 Tablespoon cocoa powder, 1/2 Tablespoon of Xylitol or sugar, a splash of cream or half and half and then top with whip cream.

4. Beauty:
*Tarte SmolderEYES Amazonian Clay Waterproof Eyeliner in Bronze is my new makeup obsession. Kindda pricey but is large and should last a long, long time.

5. Music:
*I have a love/hate relationship with music right now. The words of the music that I like to listen to with my workouts is bothering me spiritually so I am in need of some good alternatives. My friend Mica suggested that I listen to sermon podcasts so I plan to try that. If you know of any Christian music with good heart- pumping beats please let me know. I personally am not convicted about the beat of the music, just the words.

Leave a Reply

