Family Favorite · Main Dish · Pasta

Cattleman’s

                                                          My dear Grandmother Paula

I grew up on this recipe and it was originally introduced to us by my Grandmother Paula. She and my mother both made it regularly. It is the ultimate comfort food dish. Think Hamburger Helper but wwwaayyyy better. I was shocked to see that I’ve never shared it on my food blog before. Without further delay…

Cattleman’s 
makes about 4-6 main dish servings

1 lb ground beef
1 onion chopped
1 (8 oz) can tomato sauce
1 regular size can of either cream of mushroom soup or cream of chicken (great if you can make homemade)
1/2 Tb chili powder
about 1 cup of dry elbow macaroni noodles (I eyeball how much after cooked to add so this is a guess)
Cheese of choice for topping (shredded cheddar, sliced American cheese or velvetta are all good options…I prefer cheddar)

Brown your beef and onion in oven proof skillet if possible (love using my iron skillet). Meanwhile cook your macaroni noodles in boiling water until al dente. Add tomato sauce, soup, chili powder and cooked macaroni to beef mixture and stir well to combine. If needed transfer to oven proof dish. Top with your cheese and bake for 10 minutes at 350 degrees.

2 thoughts on “Cattleman’s

Leave a Reply

