Chili

Chili

I love chili! My favorite chili for hot dogs is this my chipotle chili, but for simply eating a bowl or using to smother a baked potato or cornbread, I am loving my adaptation of Lindsay’s over at Passionate Homemaking. It is absolutely delicious and uses ingredients I always have on hand. As she points out it is quite frugal (especially if you cook your own beans) and nutritious as well. It freezes well so make a big batch and enjoy a night off from cooking in the near future.

Chili

1 lb ground beef
1 (29 oz) can tomato sauce + 1 15 oz can tomato sauce (I did 4 (8 oz) can tomato sauce)
1 (29 oz) can diced tomatoes (I did 1 (15 oz) can crushed roasted tomatoes)
1 large onion, chopped
1 green pepper (I didn’t do this, but it would be yummy)
3 Tb taco seasoning mix (try this wonderful homemade!)
1 (15 oz) can pinto beans
1 (15 oz) can black beans
1/4 tsp ground cayenne pepper
1/4 cup sucanat (I did slightly less and it was perfect)
1 tsp dry oregano leaves
3/4 tsp ground black pepper
2 tsp salt
3 tsp cumin
1 tsp chili powder

Brown the meat, onion and green pepper if using. Add all remaining ingredients. Bring to boil, reduce heat to low and simmer for 1 1/2 hours. Makes 10-12 servings. You can use your crock pot by browning meat and onion, then adding it and all other ingredients to crock pot and cooking on low for 5-6 hours.

Leave a Reply

