Contemplation · Loss

God is Good Even When…?

Recently a friend of mine gave birth to a new baby & she was explaining to me that the labor was tough, but “God is good & he got here safe”. Of course my friend didn’t do anything wrong by attributing a successful labor to God’s goodness & of course I agree with her. But, this brought up a question I continue to be faced with.

Would God have been good if he had not arrived safely?

Of course I know the truth. The correct answer to that question is yes, God is good all the time. Regardless of what happens or doesn’t happen.

You rarely hear anyone say, “God is good! My husband/wife died in a car accident today.”
Or “God is good! My child was just brutally attacked & killed by a nutso.”

I want to be the kind of believer that can say with all my heart that I know my Lord is good no matter what happens. I’m not there right now, but I want to be. I believe with my intellect that the Word is true when it says He is good all the time. But sometimes my heart has trouble trusting the fact. Somehow time, experiences & no doubt satan has tricked me into believing that God is unjust & my heart isn’t safe with Him. I pray that he breaks down those strongholds & restores my faith in the truth that God is good. All the time.

Leave a Reply

