Extra Healthy · Kid Friendly · Quinoa · Vegetarian · Veggies

Broccoli Cheese Quinoa


This recipe from Love to Learn tastes very much like broccoli rice casserole to me. So healthy!!!! The recipe as shown below makes quite alot so next time I will half it. Quinoa does freeze well so keep that in mind if you have leftovers.

BROCCOLI CHEESE QUINOA

2 cups quinoa
1 bunch (3 stalks) broccoli, washed & chopped
4 cups water
1/2 cup shredded cheese (I used mild cheddar but I think swiss might be good too. Making a cheese “sauce” roux would be good in this recipe too)

Put quinoa in large saucepan & cover with water to rinse very well. Strain & return to pot. Add 4 cups water & bring to a boil. Lower heat & simmer 12-15 mins until quinoa is tender. (You can tell its done when little fibrous “C” shaped thread separates from grain…you won’t see this at first). Steam broccoli while quinoa is cooking. Stir together cheese, broccoli & quinoa.

One thought on “Broccoli Cheese Quinoa

  1. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Torrie! I have been trying to incorporate Quinoa into my meals a little more, but haven't developed a taste for it yet. I don't think I am rinsing it well enough or something? It has a bitter taste to me. I love broccoli rice casserole so I will definately give this one a try!

Leave a Reply

