Soups · Sugar Free Friendly

Red Pepper Soup


MMMMmmmmmm. This is sooooooooooooo good!!! I am looking for recipes that I can make which will fit my anti-fungal diet plan & this was a perfect fit. I combined a couple of recipes together & added a few extra things I thought would make it even better.

RED PEPPER SOUP
6 servings

6 red peppers, seeded and chopped roughly
2 medium onions, peeled & chopped (I used yellow)
4 Tb extra virgin olive oil
1 1/2 quarts chicken stock (homemade is worth it!)
1/2 cup heavy cream
2 cloves of garlic minced & saute’d in butter
1 small bunch fresh basil, cut into small pieces (I just used a sprinkling of dried basil leaves)
sea salt to taste (about 1 tsp)

optional garnish:
piima cream or creme fraiche (I used cultured sour cream)
chopped green onion

Saute’ peppers and onions in olive oil until onions are translucent. Add Basil (only if using dried basil) and minced that has been saute’d in butter and chicken stock…bring to a boil. Reduce heat & simmer about 30 mins. Place chunks in food processor (I just strained off chunks of pepper & onion leaving the broth in pot so it would all fit at once in my processor). Process until smooth & add back into pot. If using fresh basil stir in now. Simmer about 5 mins, stir in heavy cream and season with sea salt & freshly ground black pepper. Laddle in bowls & top with a dollop of sour cream & a sprinkle of chopped green onions.

Leave a Reply

