Condiments · Sugar Free Friendly

Homemade Mayonaise


I am on a special diet that restricts sugar among many other things that feed yeast and I noticed the mayo we buy has SUGAR in it! So I decided to make a recipe for it today that I got from a tea room cookbook I have. It is delicious, super easy to whip up & I honestly plan to make it from now on. It uses ingredients I always have on hand as well. Give it a try & you may not go back to store-bought either. There is also a recipe for a lighter version below. Enjoy!

BASIC MAYO

2 eggs
1 egg yolk
3 Tb lemon juice
1 Tb apple cider vinegar
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
1 tsp Real salt
1/2 tsp white pepper
2 cups canola oil (Next time I may try a healthier oil)

Place all ingredients except oil in food processor. Start machine & add oil gradually. Makes 3 cups

LIGHT MAYO

A lightened version is 1/2 cup of the above recipe + 1/2 cup plain non fat yogurt & you just mix the two together.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Mayonaise

  1. Thanks for the recipe, Torie! I have been wanting to make my own for a long time and have just never done it. I will finish up the mayo that I have and then give this a try.And good for you, giving up the microwave. I think I will be doing the same.

  2. I've never made mayo. It looks so much better and clean. I am bookmarking this recipe. Thank you so much for sharing. I don't have a microwave. the last time I used one was when I lived in student dorms. I prefer to warm up grub in the oven, in the microwave its gets sloppy.

Leave a Reply

