Extra Healthy · Lunch · Salads · Vegetarian

Fiesta Cobb Salad


This is a new recipe that I tried for my lunch today. It is the bomb! The corn, tomatoes, black beans, and avocado give a fabulous combination of color, taste & more importantly nutrition. It hammered the craving I get from time to time for a nice taco salad….only this one is much healthier with no meat or chips. Actually I did take two baked tortilla chips & crumble on top just for some extra “crunch”, but it was not needed & only added a negligible calorie or two. By the way, the easy homemade dressing is what makes this salad so good. This one is a winner ya’ll!

This recipe makes 4 servings (1 1/2 cups salad & 2 Tb dressing per serving) but you can easily downsize it for 1 like I did. I just went ahead & made the full amount of dressing so I can I have it again in a few days. There are about 228 calories per serving if you make it as listed.
SALAD:
5 cups torn romaine
1 cup canned black beans, rinsed & drained
1/2 cup frozen whole-kernel corn, thawed (can easily be thawed byrunning under warm water)
1 medium Roma tomato, diced
2 medium green onions, chopped
1 small avocado, choppped
DRESSING:
3 Tb fat-free sour cream (I use the light instead)
3 Tb low-fat buttermilk
2 tsp cider vinegar
1 medium garlic clove, minced
1/2 tsp chili powder
1/4 tsp ground cumin
GARNISH:
1/2 cup shredded low-fat Mexican cheese blend (I didn’t use this)
1/4 cup crushed baked tortilla chips (optional in my opinion)
In large salad bowl, toss the salad ingredients. In a small bowl, whisk together the dressing ingredients. Drizzle over the salad. Toss to combine. Sprinkle with the cheese & chips if desired.
One thought on “Fiesta Cobb Salad

Leave a Reply

