Extra Healthy · Pasta · Salmon

Bowtie Pasta & Salmon

My handsome kitchen companion


This is going to become a staple lunch for me. It is super healthy, low calorie (about 278), filling & tasty. I used Barilla plus bowtie pasta for extra nutrition value. I also halved the recipe, but I’ll share the original whole recipe which serves four @ 1 1/2 cup portions. I got this recipe from one of my newest cookbooks, “Healthy Family Meals” from the American Heart Association.

6 oz uncooked bowtie pasta
2 tsp olive oil
2 medium garlic cloves, minced
1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
9 oz broccoli florets (about 3 cups)
1 medium red bell pepper, thinly sliced
1 cup fat-free, low-sodium chicken broth
1/4 tsp salt
1 7.1 oz pouch pink salmon, flaked (I used the 2.6 oz pouch b/c I halved the recipe & think this would be too much salmon even for the whole 4 servings recipe?)
2 Tb shredded parmesan cheese or to taste
Prepare the pasta using the package directions, omitting the salt & oil. Drain well in a colander. Set aside. Meanwhile in a large nonstick skillet, heat the oil over medium-high heat, swirling to coat the bottom. Cook the garlic & red pepper flakes for 5 -10 seconds, stirring occasionally, being careful not to let the mixture burn. Stir in the broccoli & bell pepper. Cook for 3 to 4 mins, or until tender-crisp, stirring occasionally.
Add the broth & salt. Bring to a simmer & simmer until heated through, about 1 min, stirring occasionally. Stir in the pasta & salmon. Return to a simmer & simmer for 2 to 3 mins or until heated through, stirring occasionally. Serve sprinkled with the Parmesan.
3 thoughts on “Bowtie Pasta & Salmon

  1. Your kitchen helper is quite handsome! πŸ™‚ I love the sound of this dish. I need to be better about cooking healthy lunches for my family.

  2. Lara, if it makes you feel any better…I was the only one that ate this one. My kids had PB & J's! LOLThank you Lady Farmer, I hope you try it & like it as much as I did!

Leave a Reply

