Breakfast

Wheat Waffles



These are fantastic! My husband said these are the best waffles he has ever had & I agree. My kids seemed to like these homemade guys just as much as the store-bought ones I used to buy. Boy am I saving $ by making our own!!! I found the recipe @ http://blog.superhealthykids.com/

I took the regular recipe & quadrupled the dry ingredients to make up a large batch of “mix” to store for future use. My math skills were a bit rusty, I must admit, but I managed to figure it out. Even the regular recipe makes tons of waffles…I counted 27, but that is so you can freeze the leftovers. Then just pop the frozen ones into the toaster & you have breakfast in seconds. Making 27 waffles takes some time, but I figure that will last us a few weeks (that is if my husband stops eating them for snacks all the time).
Wheat Waffles
Regular Recipe: Makes 27 waffles
2 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup white flour
5 tsp baking powder
2 tsp salt
4 Tb sugar
4 eggs
3 cups lowfat milk
1/2 cup canola oil
2 tsp vanilla
1 tsp ground cinnamon
Mix all ingredients…will be lumpy. Pour onto hot greased waffle iron. Top with berries, yogurt, peanut butter or other fruit. Freeze leftovers for a quick breakfast later. Pop frozen waffles in toaster.
Bulk version for on-hand mix: Makes 27 waffles x 4 (This will make enough mix for 4 batches of 27 waffles) Just take the above dry ingredients & mix times 4. Store in a dry airtight container. When ready to make a batch of 27 waffles use 3 1/4 cups plus 6 Tb plus 1 tsp of dry mix & add wet ingredients above. 
Leave a Reply

