Pasta · Vegetarian · Veggies

Spicy Pasta With Sweet Peppers For One




I completely rearranged a recipe called “Garden-Fresh Fettuccine” from my Taste of Home magazine.

The results were great as I’m sure the original recipe is as well. The original called for fettuccine, zucchini & tomatoes of which I had none. I substituted penne for the fettuccine & added in yellow bell pepper to the recipe. Here are the delicious results. The amounts I used were for one serving only, albeit a large single serving ; ).
Spicy Pasta With Sweet Peppers
1 serving
1 1/4 cups dry Barilla Plus Penne (this is alot healthier than white pasta, but it tastes just as good & you can buy it at Wal-Mart!)
Julienned pieces of green, red, yellow peppers, & sliced onion, about 1 1/2 cup total
3 cloves garlic, chopped (I love my garlic press, but in recipes like this I want chunkier pieces of garlic)
1 1/2 Tb vegetable oil
salt & pepper to taste
crushed red pepper flakes to taste, about 1/8 tsp
shredded Parmesan cheese (not grated)
Italian herb mix to taste
Cook pasta. Meanwhile in a skillet, saute’ the onions & peppers until tender (not browned). Then add garlic, salt, pepper, Italian herbs & pepper flakes & saute about 4 more mins. Drain pasta, put in a bowl & mix in the pepper mixture. Top with shredded Parm & enjoy!
*Update* Fresh mushrooms & fresh roma tomatoes make a great addition as well. Don’t add the tomatoes until you add the seasonings for last few minutes.
2 thoughts on “Spicy Pasta With Sweet Peppers For One

  1. This looks like something my family would really enjoy! Thanks for sharing. (PS I accidentally left my other comment signed up under my daughter’s account)

  2. I have made this a few times and it is WONDERFUL!!! I have added the mushrooms and tomatoes, too. Oh, and I time I added some zucchini and it was right tasty.

Leave a Reply

