Muffins and Breads

Sassy Cinnamon Muffins


Yesterday my husband said, “I need to call my mom & get my recipe for Sassy Cinnamon Muffins”. He first got the recipe in Jr. High Home Ec (don’t ask me why he took that class…probably to meet chicks). Come to find out, it is the same recipe I have had since High School Home Ec. So here is the recipe easy enough for young ‘ens to make & good enough for young ‘ens to eat. 

Sassy Cinnamon Muffins
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup packed brown sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 egg, beaten within an inch of it’s life
1/2 cup canola oil
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup chopped pecans, optional
Grease muffin tin or use liners. Preheat oven for 400 degrees.
Mix flour, sugars, baking powder, soda, salt & cinnamon well. Combine egg, oil & milk. Add to dry ingredients; stir just enough to moisten. Fold in pecans. Bake 20-25 min. Yield 12 muffins
2 thoughts on “Sassy Cinnamon Muffins

  1. Funny story on my finding your post: I too have used this recipe since middle school home ec around 1982 or so. I used to keep it pinned on my bulletin board, and the recipe card is riddled with push-pin holes all over! The card is bent and stained, and it is a hoot to see my 13 year-old handwriting each time I use it. But right now, it is stuck behind my refridgerator where it slid off my kitchen counter! I just spent 30 minutes trying to no avail to get it out and then finally realizing, "This is 2009. I'm sure I can find this recipe on the Internet!" Yours was the first "hit" when I googled "sassy cinnamon muffins," and when I read that both you and your husband had used it in home ec class, I knew this had to be "the one!" Thanks for posting and I'm sure I'll take time later to look at the rest of your posts! Best Wishes and Happy Cooking, Lisa

  2. Where did you guys go to school? I had to make these in JR hihg. It was my teachers first job and we were in the first period. I had it and one time then lost i, went to the school and lost it again. thats for the story and momories of some good eats. Will enjoy them this holiday season.

Leave a Reply

