Salads

Simply Egg Salad


This is one of my husband’s favorite recipes ever. Sometime after we were married although I cannot recall when, he made sure we got it from my Mother-In-Love so I could make it for him. Sometimes he just craves it. It is really one of those recipes that the amounts are adjustable to your taste. Those kind used to drive me crazy as a new cook. I wanted EXACT ammounts! Jonathan likes to eat this on bread as a sandwich, I on the other hand like it in a bowl. Sometimes I add a little chopped green olive & white onion. There are other things you could probably add to this simple recipe, but sometimes it is best as is.

Chef Braeden (who is always in the middle of everything I do) helped me with the eggs, peeling & slicing (in the safe egg slicer of course). 
12 eggs
1 1/4 cup mayo
1/8 cup mustard
1/2 cap white vinegar
Salt & Pepper to taste
Place the eggs (even layer…no stacking) in a large saucepan. Cover them with cool water & bring to a boil covered over med-high heat. Once it comes to a boil, turn off the heat & let sit 15-20 min. This method really does make perfectly hardboiled eggs. No need to boil them to death. Chop eggs into tiny pieces & add other ingredients. Chill. You can half the recipe with no problem for a smaller batch. 
Leave a Reply

