Schooling

Monday January 28th, 2007

We started the book “Caps For Sale” by Esphyr Slobodkina. I have to admit, this is my favorite one so far. The boys requested that we also read their book from last week, “Snowy Day”. The Caps book had monkey’s in it so we looked up “monkey” in our children encyclopedia. We talked about how they usually live in trees & they often mimic the actions of humans, which is adorably shown in the book. We even had a “monkey” snack. I let Josh learn how to peel a banana & we drizzled honey & raisins on top & ate it w/ a spoon. He loved that. Their favorite song is “No More Monkey’s Jumping On The Bed” & it is requested every night @ bedtime in our home.

We did math lessons focusing on the numbers 6 & 7. Also did a file center activity. I’ll attach a picture of it above. Learned a song to the tune of The Farmer in the Dell. It goes like this:
I love to count to three,
I love to count to three,
I start w/ one, my work is done,
When I say one, two, three.

Our Bible story today was Daniel in the lions den. Today’s poem was “Dancing Pants”. The blessing I prayed over them was for their protection via God’s angels.

The thing I’m MOST excited about is our memory verse work. I’m still working w/ them on “A soft answer turns away wrath. Proverbs 15:1” but it doesn’t seem to be sinking in. Well, today I put some motions w/ the words that I think will help memory & I’ve thrown in an incentive. They will be offered $1.00 of play money to put in a jar for each verse they learn. After learning 5 & earning 5 dollars, then being able to say all 5 still on review…they may get a new small toy or treat of their choice. They might pick a trip to the ice cream shop or a toy or something chep that suits their fancy. Josh got REALLY excited about this prospect & said he’d pick a toy.

When I put the boys down for naps I am working on phonics & word play w/ Josh on our leapstart computer. This seems to be a great time of the day to do that w/ no distractions from little bro & an eagerness to learn instead of go to sleep right away. Works like a charm!

Leave a Reply

